One of the ways the Manitoba Society of Occupational Therapists promotes the profession of occupational therapy is by providing awards of recognition to occupational therapy students and practicing occupational therapists.

Here is a Quick Reference Guide of all of the Awards that MSOT offers.

For more information on an MSOT awards, click on the name in the list below.

MSOT Book Prize  

Each year, the MSOT Book Prize is awarded to the student with the second highest standing in the final year of the Master of Occupational Therapy program at the University of Manitoba. The award is a $100.00 gift certificate from the University of Manitoba Bookstore, presented by an MSOT representative at the School of Medical Rehabilitation's October Convocation Luncheon.

To qualify, the student must have carried a full, normal course load in his/her final year.

Outstanding Occupational Therapist Award
The Outstanding Occupational Therapist Award was established in 1989 as a means to honour an MSOT member (MSOT Executive members are not eligible while in office) who has made an outstanding contribution to the profession. The award is intended to heighten awareness within the profession, instil a desire to contribute to the development of both the profession and society, and to focus public attention on the scope of occupational therapy. View a list of past recipients

To be nominated, an occupational therapist must make an outstanding contribution in one or more of the following areas:

  • clinical practice
  • education
  • research
  • administration
  • public relations
  • politics
  • professional associations

To be considered “outstanding,” the nominee's contribution must have had a significant impact and marked benefits on the profession. For example, a nominee might have contributed significant articles to various publications, developed new services or processes, changed the structure of a clinical practice or educational program or contributed to research which has had direct and specific effects on occupational therapy

Nominations will be considered every year, but the award will be presented only when provincial recognition is deemed merited.

The deadline for nominations is March 14, 2014.                                                                                             

25 Year Membership Acknowledgement
Each year, special recognition is given to current MSOT members to acknowledge their 25th anniversary as an active member of MSOT.

The recipient will receive a certificate of recognition and a small gift of appreciation, which will be presented at the MSOT Awards and New Grads Reception. The recipients’ names will then be entered in a draw for a free one year MSOT membership and acknowledged in the MSOT newsletter.

Life Membership
Life Membership is an honour given to only a select few MSOT members who have distinguished themselves and the profession over the course of many years.

To date, MSOT has recognized the extraordinary contributions of the following individuals by awarding them a Life Membership in the organization:

  • Mary Judd 1990
  • Margaret Faber 1990
  • Elizabeth Gibson 1994
  • Patricia Jenkins 1998

Certificate of Appreciation
A Certificate of Appreciation is presented to outgoing members of the MSOT Executive and Committee Chairpersons. Certificates are presented at the MSOT Annual General Meeting.

MSOT Award for Professional Excellence in Fieldwork
The MSOT Award for Professional Excellence in Fieldwork award commenced in 1999. The award is given to the graduating student of the Masters of Occupational Therapy program at the University of Manitoba who has consistently demonstrated 'traits of excellence' in the fieldwork setting, based on up to three fieldwork placements.

Nomination forms are distributed by the SMR Academic Fieldwork Coordinator. The award is presented to the recipient at the MSOT Awards and New Grads Reception.

MSOT Student Research Award

The MSOT Student Research Award is granted to the University of Manitoba Occupational Therapy student with the highest marks in Statistics and Research Methods.

OT Memorial Bursary
The OT Memorial Bursary is managed by the Occupational Therapy Department at the School of Medical Rehabilitation, with funds raised by the department staff at the annual homecoming event. (MSOT also invites its members to contribute to the bursary with donations to the University of Manitoba.)

All students in the Masters of Occupational Therapy program at the University of Manitoba can apply for the bursary.